Group members

More information about the current members of the group can be found on the People’s page.

Students are encouraged to discuss PhD opportunities with Dr. Peeters or apply for funding for postdoctoral fellowships.

PhD student

Kai Betlem, PhD student who will work on the studying of catalytic effect of enzymes through the heat-transfer method. Start date: 11 April ’16. Former : Hasselt University (Belgium)

Masters by Research

Negar Mansouriboroujeni, who will work on bacterial detection with Surface Imprinted Polymers. Start date: September 2016

Thomas Dunbar, in collaboration with Dr. Beatriz Macia-Ruiz, who will work on MIP-based detection of antidepressants. Start date: January 2017

Exchange students/academics

Sacha Hoksbergen from Hogeschool Utrecht: Studying catalytic activity of enzymes with heat-transfer. Start date: September 2017

Raquel Debroi from Universidade de Sao Paulo: Development of Molecularly Imprinted Polymers for the Detection of Caffeine

Summer students 2017

Jessica Pimlott, 2nd year MMU student, working on RSC bursary received from Analytical Trust

Project students 2016

MChem: co-supervision of Joe Lowdon with Dr. Sutcliffe and Aneesa Al-Ani with Dr. Jones

Undergraduate students MIP work: Shamima Akhtar, Safira Kholwadia, Oliver Jamieson, Will Battell (with Dr. Munro)

Undergraduate students peanut allergen work Dr. Kathyrn Whitehead: Holly Hewitt and Nathan Burden


MChem students 2016/2017: Aneesa el Ani (currently doing PhD at University of Bath) and Joseph Lowdon.

Erasmus students

Timothy Goris, Hogeschool Utrecht (The Netherlands), 01-02-’16 until 17-06-’16, Studying the catalytic effect of enzymes

Simone Casadio, University of Bologna (Italy), 11-04-’16 until 01-07-’16, Detection of neurotransmitters with Molecularly Imprinted Polymers

Jorge Tadashi Ueta, Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil, 01-09-2016 until 20-12-2017, Detection of antidepressants with Molecularly Imprinted Polymers.

Francois Nguyen and Taejun Lim, Universite Paris (10 weeks internship April-June 2017)

Summer students 2017/2016

2017: Jessica Pimlott, RSC bursary from Analytical Trust.

2016: Joe Lowdon (3 weeks paid internship on fluorescent monomers). MChem student with Dr. Sutcliffe and Dr. Peeters for year 2016/2017.

Ben Enright (2 weeks stay, currently doing his A levels).

Summer students 2015

Summer students 2015: Deborah Belami, Shamima Khatun, Joe Lowdon.