Dr Marloes Peeters

Marloes Peeters
Dr Marloes Peeters

I graduated from Eindhoven University of Technology (the Netherlands) with a degree in Chemistry & Chemical Engineering. For my PhD, I moved to research institute IMO/IMOMEC in Belgium where I was part of the BIOSensors group of prof. Wagner. There, together with Maastricht University, I developed polymer-based sensing platforms that were used for the electrochemical and thermal detection of neurotransmitters. After finishing my PhD, I continued as a postdoctoral researcher within the same group to focus on aptamers as recognition elements. In 2014, I started working in the organic chemistry group of Prof Kilburn at Queen Mary University of London. Instead of biomimetic receptors, I focused on enzymes (“natural” receptors) and studying enzyme catalysis with electrochemical methods. My independent research started at Manchester Metropolitan University in 2015. In 2018, I was promoted to senior lecturer in Chemical Biology. My research group focuses on developing novel (portable) sensing platforms that can be used in sustainable healthcare.

Contact details:


Manchester Metropolitan University, Chester Street, M1 5GD, Manchester

Room Number: E427

Tel: 0161 247 1450



EPSRC New Investigator Award: EP/R029296/1: £202,000. 2 year project for a PDRA and PhD student with as title: Development of thermal sensors for the detection of antimicrobial resistance

Cambridge Medical Technologies: contract research (6 months, PDRA Francesco and Mecozzi) and KTP through Innovate UK to work on detection of cardiovascular biomarkers.

NC3Rs (Medial Research Council): £49,910 for project together with MIP Diagnostics. 9 month project dedicated to the development of sensors for the thermal detection of cardiovascular biomarkers. More information can be found on: https://www.nc3rs.org.uk/new-sensor-platform-combining-plastic-antibodies-simple-thermal-detection-0

RSC:  bursary from Materials Division for organization Bioinspired Materials Symposium), RSC bursaries  to attend IUPAC General Assembly and Conference in Brazil and for summer students (Analytical Trust 2017 and 2018). RSC Research Fund (£3500) for starting academics.

British Council/Newton Fund: £10k for hosting visiting Indian scholar Pankaj Singla (August – November 2017)

Royal Society: participation in Royal Society pairing scheme 2017, paired with civil servant Ben Rayner (DEFRA)

Awards group:

2018 – Best poster presentation of PhD student Kai Betlem at annual SciEng symposium  Manchester Metropolitan University

2016 – 2nd prize Science Image Competition annual SciEng symposium Manchester Metropolitan University

2011 – Best oral presentation prize Marloes Peeters at Graduate Student Symposium on Molecular Imprinting (Imperial College London)

Named inventor on the following patents:

EP2772753A1 – Heat transfer based analysis of bioparticles

EP3035055B1 – Aptamer-based biosensing

US 20140242605 A1 – Heat-transfer based analysis of particles

Professional Activities

Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry

Member of IUPAC (member SPT within Polymer Division) and Society for Molecular Imprinting

MMU Roles

Unit Leader for Biological Processes & Pharmaceutical Chemistry (2nd year)

From 2018 onwards: placement tutor

Centre lead for theme Sensors of Advanced Materials Centre and responsible for early career researchers